Personal landmarks

Earlier I wrote about two landmark anniversaries for our Soho Masses.  At about this time, I also pass  three more personal landmarks, 2 concerning this blog specifically:  1st March marked 2 months since I launched “Queering the Church”, while sometime this week (possibly later today), I expect to pass 2000 page views.  That’s right folks – you guys are clicking on my pages at the rate of 1000 a month, and rising.  Thank you.

Even more personal:  some time today the arrival is due (but not necessarily expected) of my first grandchild here in London.  (I have two grandchildren in Johannesburg, but that’s another hemisphere.  The first little one to be more easily accessible, is eagerly awaited.)

At our Saturday Soho Masses workshop, I was reminded how lucky I am to have the joy of two children – a blessing denied to most gay men.  I am particularly grateful for the support they always showed in growing up to me and my then partner.  Robynn, here in London, has often spoken up in support of gay parents.  Her published take on it is that she was ‘lucky’ to have had two fathers.  She has also been particularly supportive of this blog, encouraging and advising in its early days, and has been a leading contributor of comments.

Now it is her turn for parenthood. As noted, today is nominally due date – but Robynn notes in her sprogblog (co-written with her wonderfully loving husband) that “bebeh” inherits a “tardy gene” from both sides, so may not make her appearance just yet.

Go pay her a visit at Spring on Mars– she is fun to read.

3 Responses to “Personal landmarks”

  1. scroobious Says:

    *waves* hello!
    Still no bebeh.
    As you were.

  2. Thom Says:

    Congratulations!

    I need an address as to where I should mail the “World’s Greatest Grandpa” t-shirt!

  3. queeringthechurch Says:

    Thanks, Thom. You could try Dreamland? I’m not sure where else I can inhabit the Church I envisage.


Leave a Reply

