Ignatian Spirituality – and Me.

Last Supper

This post has moved to my new domain at http://queering-the-church.com/blog

7 Responses to “Ignatian Spirituality – and Me.”

  1. William Lindsey Says:

    Terry, thank you for a beautiful, and profoundly moving, statement about the roots of the spirituality underlying Queering the Church. I needed to hear this today. I have felt lately, both with my own blog and in my own life, a bit bewildered.

    You remind me that even when the paths are not evident before us, we remain on an important journey, once we have set foot in faith into the wilderness. As I think I’ve mentioned to you before, my undergraduate study at a Jesuit university has given me a similar appreciation for Jesuit spirituality, and, in particular, for the daily practice of offering oneself and all that one has to the Lord.

    You are making an important contribution by showing how very traditional forms of spirituality can be wedded to queer theology–because those of us who are gay or lesbian can and do live spiritual lives, despite the incessant charge of many of our brothers and sisters that we are incapable of spirituality.

  2. colkoch Says:

    It is a mission Terry and one that is shared. Discernment is always a difficult proposition especially when one can’t quite see the end goal.

    For me that’s what makes the spiritual path so dependent on trust. That may be the gift that gays can offer the Church. Gays have been villified and mistrusted for so long with in a Catholic context, that many of us have learned to look for trust elsewhere—-inward. Which is exactly where Jesus said to look.

    • queeringthechurch Says:

      Colleen, Bill:

      What a pleasant surprise to open up today, after a little while without internet access, to find two such supportive comments to something I posted with some hesitation. But I believes more and more that the best way to stand up to the spiritual bullying of the hierarchy is to develop the spiritual path. I wanted to include a quotation from Karl Rahner that I came across earlier in the week – but could not find when I needed it. the gist thought, was that talking about God, or making rules about god, cannot compare with the direct experience of God. Hence, for one who has had that experience of God, manmade rules that contradict that experience are of no consequence. This is precisely the I feel about it, and the only way to fnd that direct experience, which Rahner believes is available to us all, is through spirituality

      • William Lindsey Says:

        Terry, you say, “But I believe more and more that the best way to stand up to the spiritual bullying of the hierarchy is to develop the spiritual path.”

        Amen. And that’s just where I have ended up in my own little discernment process this week–as I described in my posting about that yesterday at Bilgrimage. I had to spend some days in silence to remember that it was those shining threads that got me going with the blog–that it is about a spiritual path along which I’m walking.

        And now that we see a number of us being nudged by the Spirit at the same time along the same path, perhaps it’s time to find a collaborative platform from which to speak? 🙂

  3. Phillip Clark Says:

    Count me in! Look forward to joining you on this queer race to the finish line!

    • queeringthechurch Says:

      Thank you, Philip, for the encouragement.

      Does this “count me in” mean that we can expect some contributions of your own? I hope so.

      • Phillip Clark Says:

        Of course! Its just, its seemed that the ecclesiastical gay news cycle has simmered down a bit… =P


Leave a Reply

