Apology: Gremlins busy (Updated)

A reader has drawn my attention, through a comment, to numerous typos in my post “The Faith of Abomination”. For this I have apologised, but need to explain further.

For the past day or so, I have experienced some extraordinary and inexplicable difficulties accessing my site, which began exactly as I was preparing that post.   There were some difficulties in trying to save the first draft,  and ever since then, I have been unable to open any  WordPress sites from my laptop – or from my partner’s desktop.  The problem has not been restricted to this site, or to the Open Tabernacle, where I also write  – but also extends to those WordPress sites which I sometimes visit just as a reader. Obviously, without access to my own site, I have not been able to edit what was just a first draft:  I did not even realise it had been published, until I had email notification of some comments.

The problem remains unresolved – although I am working on it. In the meantime, I have established that I can access the site from my local library, which is what I am doing now. I have also established, by means of a little test with the Guardian story on the Conservatives advice on gay rights, that I can still post indirectly from Livewriter, but I cannot see what I have done, and editing and picture possibilities are more limited.

I hope to resolve the basic problem soon, but if not please be patient.  I have a lot of material that I want to be writing about right now, and will continue to do so: there is important stuff on Ash Wednesday, for instance, and some material on church history that is worth sharing.

However, if I cannot get the procedures back to normal, please excuse make some allowances if the next few posts should appear without pictures, and with poor formatting or editing.

UPDATE:  Problem fixed.

Once I identified that the problem was restricted to the house, but affected both PC’s, I realised that it had to be a router problem.  I have now fixed it, “Alone”, as the fictional criminal lawyer Rumple of the Bailey would have it, “and without a leader.” (But accompanied by a great deal of muttering and cursing along the way.)

Normal service should now be resumed.

3 Responses to “Apology: Gremlins busy (Updated)”

  1. Jayden Cameron Says:

    Congratulations. I was just about to write you and tell you I could get into the dashboard. Glad to hear you have many writing projects in the fire. I’m still behind for many reasons, but have a week off coming up, so hope to make a contribution to OT.

    • Terence@queerchurch Says:

      Great – I’ve been wondering what’s been happening to you. I did see your comment at Bilgrimage though, so realise you amy be sharing some of his downer: I hope, though, not as severe. We need some of your wonderful spiritual inputs at OT – just to keep the whole sie looking bleak and depressed.

      Terry

  2. Jayden Cameron Says:

    I’ll get right to it, promise. In fact your comment inspired me to post a lighthearted reflection over at Gay Mystic.


Leave a Reply

