Technical Nightmare!

This site currently attempts to manage the difficult art of bi-location (see below), at both https://queeringthechurch.wordpress.com and at http://queering-the-church.com/blog. As of today, any reader attempting to access the latter, http://queering-the-church.com/blog, should see an ominous orange screen with the message “Account suspended”. This is a technical issue, which has me extremely angry. The gremlins have struck. I am dealing with it as urgently as I can, but I fear it will not be resolved speedily. Please bear with me.

Back in March, I made an ill-considered move from log hosting at WordPress.com to what is called “self-hosting” at Just Host. (The principle was a good one – but I badly mucked up the migration itself, and the choice of host).

Right from the start, I realised that the mismanagement of the migration was causing difficulties, which I attempted to deal with in different ways. Recently, I effectively admitted to myself that the original attempt was not working, and developed a counter-strategy, which has meant that all recent posts have been cross-posted to both sites. This strategy has been working for me, and now turns out to be a godsend.

At what should be the primary site, the self-hosted one at http://queering-the-church.com/blog, the hosting company, Just Host, have without warning suddenly discontinued the account because, they say, it is using too much CPU resources on their server. I understand, after some research, that this can be a problem with some WordPress applications, but one which in principle can be resolved with suitable monitoring and diligence.  What angers me is that this suspension has been done arbitrarily, without notice, and without any attempt to work together to resolve the causes of the trouble.

After a strongly worded letter to Just Host, I have now been given access to the site myself, to attempt to resolve the problem. Until I have done so, there will be no access possible for readers. I will be doing everything I can to sort this out as speedily as possible, but have no idea how long it will take: it could be days, it could be weeks. Who knows?

In the meantime, I am grateful that recent posts at least have been cross-posted at the original domain (this one – https://queeringthechurch.wordpress.com.)  This  will continue to be the site of any fresh posting for the time being, but links within posts which refer to the other domain will simply not work.  I apologize for the difficulties and frustrations this may cause for readers.

 

4 Responses to “Technical Nightmare!”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    I feel your pain, they did the same thing to me a few weeks ago. I can’t stand just host. They have the worst customer service and tech support. They will cancel your account without any notice if your site uses more than 10% CPU for more than 90 seconds. It happened to me when testing a plug-in, now they are trying to refund less than a third of my money and it has taken weeks to get that offer. The only reason they did that is because of a complaint I filed with the Better Business Bureau. I recommend changing hosts as soon as possible. They have a very cheap price, but you get what you pay for with them.

    • Terence@queerchurch Says:

      Thanks, Jennifer. We are not alone: it is obvious to me (too late) that very many WordPress users feel the same way about Just Host. I now realize that I opted for them initially far too hastily and impatiently, on the basis of a complete misreading of the situation. I was under the completely mistaken perception that they offered support for the actual process of migration from wordpress.com, which is not the case. The result was a badly botched migration, for which I am still paying the price (but does at least mean that I still have this site up and functioning, which was never the intention.)

      I obviously need to find a better host, but there are three provisos:

    • My own technical knowledge is limited. I will be looking to improve my skills, but this will not happen overnight. So, I need a host with genuine support, especially during my early learning curve.
    • That support must explicitly include help with the initial migration. If I can establish that, I hope I can finally settle once again on a single domain, and keep all my existing readers.
    • Any prospective host needs to be appropriate to a UK based user. (I have seen observations in user forums that some of the most user-friendly US hosts are markedly less helpful with foreign customers).
    • A tall order – so I will not be rushing into any move. I will, however, be starting the investigations.

      I hope you have found a suitable host yourself, and recovered suitably after the migration ordeal.

  • Jennifer Says:

    I have found a better host, Bluehost. In the past, I only used them for domain registering but I decided to give them a try with hosting and so far I am very happy with my choice. They have a live chat option for support and they have quickly resolved every question or issue (so far all caused by me, lol) I’ve had. Granted I’ve only been using their hosting services for a few weeks, but so far so good. I hated JustHost within the first week.

    They aren’t quite as cheap as JustHost but they are close and the few extra dollars are well spent for the great support and options they provide. They make site building and scripts extremely easy, especially for beginners.

    Good luck!

  • Terence@queerchurch Says:

    Thank you, Jennifer. I have seen numerous strong endorsements for Blue Hosts. They would be my automatic choice, except for two reservations – one complaint I have seen from a user in Europe, who says that their support is much weaker outside the US; and I have wanted to discuss switching with them, but have been unable to find either a suitable telephone number for calling from the UK, or alternative contact methods.

    I haven’t ruled them out though – just have not yet done enough investigation.


Leave a Reply

